Moment of Truth – Little Girl Lost

November 17, 2014

It was a warm and starry night, my little legs were playfully swinging back and forth, enjoying the ride on my dad’s shoulders. My mom’s parents invited us to dinner and since we didn’t live far, we walked down a long and narrow dirt road.  I never liked to walk when I was little girl – I enjoyed being lifted up on someones shoulder or back.

You know, it’s funny how I can remember the little things,  I could not have been no more than three years old, but I remember that particular day.  To be honest, the only other thing I remember is sitting in a Church with my oldest sister, staring at a man sleeping in a box.. This man, my dad,  was dead and I didn’t understand death, I was just a little kid, and besides, I barely knew him.  After the shoulder ride, I barely saw him.   I couldn’t understand why the man in the box was only my dad and not my other six siblings’ dad.  Who is  their dad and why won’t he accept me knowing I had no dad?

My days as a little girl into my teenage years were so frustrating.  It didn’t help matters any when one of my siblings teased me because my dad was dead and his wasn’t.  I honestly struggled with the fact of not having a dad in my life.

I can clearly understand the importance of a little girl needing her daddy.  A dad makes you feel safe.  He fights your battles, screens your dates, and protects you with all his heart.  I missed out on that…

As an adult, one may say, “OK, get over it.” But, I believe not having a dad in my life, has been the root cause of my poor decisions in relationships.  It’s not a cop out, it’s the truth as I see it in myself….I can ONLY speak for MYSELF.

This Concludes Mimi Jenkins’ Moment Of Truth.

Picture 103

Leave a Reply

