Inhale – Exhale: Moment of Truth

October 21, 2013

I started out at the age of 5 wanting to be a flight attendant, but by the ripe age of 6, I wanted to be a lawyer.  I always had a vivid imagination. In my mind, I could change careers like I changed my mind; every 10 minutes!  It was amazing how I could be both independent and successful one minute and marry a rich man the next minute.  I could conquer the world or so I thought.  What happened to those dreams as a kid?  One answer – LIFE!

I have had jobs in corporations, real estate offices, and banks, but I wasn’t progressing – in other words, I was going nowhere fast.  I tried my best at success, but failed miserably.  Why was that?  Why couldn’t I be and do the things I dreamed as a kid? Was it me?  Was I holding myself back?  Was I simply fulfilling everyone else’s expectations of me because I was the only one in the family to graduate from high school and college?  Aha—–that was it…. I was doing what others expected of me. 

If it is one thing I have learned – you cannot live your life according to the expectations of others.  

God gave each and everyone of us a gift to use according to His will and purpose.  We are not here to please people, we are here to please Him.  Period.  When we step out of His will, we fail.  He will shut doors to guide you where He needs you.  The very thing I said I would never do, guess what?  I’m doing it.  I am a caregiver and love every minute of it.  At first, I couldn’t figure out why I was placed in this position, but then it dawned on me.  God can not use me as a lawyer, flight attendant, or sitting behind a desk.  

You see, I prayed for God to send me where I am needed.  I prayed for Him to use me according to His will and purpose for my life – guess what- He did! 

So, for a while, I felt as if my degree in Business Administration was a waste because I am not using it to its full potential, but I had to realize that serving others was what Jesus did and is stilling doing – when the time comes, if I wait patiently, He will turn it into something marvelous that will benefit others, put a smile on my face, and please Him at the same time.

When I get anxious and start asking why, I Inhale and Exhale and constantly say these words, “God is in control.”

This concludes Mimi Jenkins’ Moment of Truth.

For Holiday ideas and great savings, be sure to visit http://www.colormedirect.com/ColorsOfInspiration

 

Image

Leave a Reply

