Caring for a parent with arthritis

August 22, 2013

It hurts me when I unlock the door to my mom’s house in the morning and she is sitting on the couch crying in agonizing arthritis pain.  She has been diagnosed with PMR (Polymyalgia Rheumatica), Osteoarthritis, and Fibromyalgia, that we are aware of…

http://arthritis.webmd.com/default.htm

Honestly, if I could take away the pain from her and ration some to myself, I would do it.  My questions are what exactly cause arthritis and can it be prevented?

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/arthritis/DS01122/DSECTION=causes

To answer the first question as we all know, arthritis is caused by wear and tear on your joints.   As a child, my mom was abused both physically and mentally.  She was forced to leave school at a very young age to care for her nieces.  Forced to work out in waist deep snow and chop wood, while everyone else was inside staying warm by the cozy fire she provided wood for.  Yes, it hurts when she tells me her child hood stories.  I wonder how she ever survived, but she did thanks to Almighty God, my mom is living to tell her story. 

Can arthritis be prevented? Not really, my mom was and still is a healthy eater, exercised and took her vitamins.  So, in essence, it can’t be prevented; depending on your life style and how you grew up, it may not affect you as bad as it did my mom.

As an adult, she often got beat and knocked around by scum buckets, but it never stopped her, she out lasted them all!  My mom is a very godly and strong woman.  The wounds of her past only made her stronger.  Thank You Father, for saving my mom and enabling me to take care of her the way she took care of me.

This Concludes Mimi Jenkins’ Moment of Truth. 

P.S. The image in the picture depicts what my mom’s thumb look like…..although it is not an actual image of her hand.

Image

 

References:

WebMD 

Mayo Clinic 

2 Responses to “Caring for a parent with arthritis”

  1. hiddinsight Says:

    I understand the way it feels to watch your mom suffer. You are not alone.

  2. kirs10woods Says:

    Salute to your mom! I understand how you feel. In my case, it was my mom who felt that way. I was diagnosed with osteoarthritis when I was a teen and it was really painful and irritating. I was kinda depressed and frustrated. I wasn’t able to do things that I love doing like running. My mom sent me to a physical therapist. I was scheduled for physical therapy, which I was able to complete after several months. We waited and hoped for improvements but what we only got was disappointment. No improvements at all. My aunt, who had patellar tendonitis, advised me to see her orthopedic surgeon, Dr Purita and have a stem cell treatment. After weeks of discussion with my parents, we called the doctor and request for stem cell therapy schedule. The treatment was completed in 5 weeks and it was successful. Never felt the sharp, irritating pain again since then. I am touched by the story of your mom. Does she know how to blog? She can inspire others too! I hope she will soon find ease. And as a daughter, I admire your willingness to take your mother’s pains. 🙂


Leave a Reply

