It’s All About Timing

April 26, 2013

As I embark on a journey to do that which GOD has purposed me for, I wonder what took me so long.  What took me so long to realize writing was a gift to be used to help people live a better life?  I had it all wrong; you see, I thought in order to make a difference; I had to sit behind a desk anticipating the next project – wanting to please my boss with what I have learned.  But as it turned out, I was only burying myself deep in projects while still parked in neutral – not going anywhere fast.

We all think we know what we want, when HE knows what we need.  Now, I’m not going to turn this into a preachy piece of information, but sometimes, we do not exceed in life because we go after the wrong things….

I wrote an e- book titled, I Am My Mother’s Daughter’ – it’s not doing so well.  I thought I “wanted” to be an author of best-selling books.  I just knew my e-book would sell.  Guess what, it didn’t.  This wasn’t the type of writing that I was supposed to get into to or was it.  Maybe I went about it all wrong and just assumed I knew I had what it took.  Wrong.  If my husband, publisher, family, and friends, said it was great; then how come it’s not selling?  Well, maybe it wasn’t in GOD’s plan for me to be an author – at the moment.  It has to be on HIS timing, not ours.  It’s all about timing.

But, I didn’t give up hope that writing was still a gift I had, having published my first poem as “unknown” at the age of 12 because my mom couldn’t afford to get it published:

If life was like roses so pure and so sweet

There would be no problems between you and me

 It went something like that….too bad I can’t remember the rest.  But writing has been my passion for as long as I could remember, it just took me many years later to figure out what to do with it.

 Writing can be used to uplift others with encouraging words of wisdom….it can be used in research to find out the latest cure for diseases…as a letter to a dear friend….it can be used to give you the latest updates on what’s hot and what’s not….writing can be used for any and all things which is good.

 Writing gets me through my day when I’m frustrated – when I am at work and things seem to get a little out of hand, I pull up Microsoft Word and type my thoughts.  It relieves all the anger inside and brings forth a better temperament for the remainder of the day. 

 The journey that I am embarking on, will take me places I have never been before (from the comfort of my home), allowing me to help those in need and loving it.  Any journey you take in life is supposed to have some sort of purpose behind it. Ask yourself the following questions as you embark on your journey:

 

  • Am I doing it to better my life or someone else’s or both? 
  • Am I helping someone in need?
  • Am I doing all I can to make a difference?
  • Is this what I am asked to do?
  • Is this a need or a want?

 It’s all about timing.  If you go for something and it doesn’t turn out the way you intended, consider it a blessing.  There are bigger and better things waiting for you ahead.  When you look back on your life, you will be glad you didn’t take what you thought you wanted.

 This Concludes Mimi Jenkins’ Moment of Truth.

Image

 

One Response to “It’s All About Timing”

  1. hiddinsight Says:

    I feel the same way as you about writing!


Leave a Reply

