Are You Focused

January 7, 2013

As I look back over year 2012, I wonder if I have accomplished or at least attempted to put myself out there and be all I could have been by asking myself the following questions:

1. Did I slack in any areas?

2.  Did I work to my full potential towards my goals and dreams?

3.  Do I have any regrets?

Did I slack in any areas?

I think so, at least in the beginning.  You see, a lot of times we think we want something when in reality, we don’t.  We all need money to survive, but will it make us happy or fulfill our every aspect in life?  I have mentioned in a previous blog to go for what you want in life and do what makes you happy as long as it aligns with God’s will.  Sometimes, we tend to miss what we already have right under our noses.  That being said, I love writing and I will continue to write, but I will do so in an inspiring fashion.  There are lots of books and gurus that can tell you how to live your life, but in the end, it is all up to you.  How do you really perceive life?  Could you have done more things to accomplish your dreams?  If so, what you doing about it now?

Did I work to full potential towards my goals and dreams?

Towards the end I did.  You see, it is easy to say, “I want to be a writer.”  What was I doing to pursue my goals?  Did I sit back and wish for it?  Or did I, little by little, start focusing on how I can become a better writer.  What do I need to do in order to get my name out there?  Did I get disappointed every time I viewed my book and didn’t see any reviews?  Of course I did.  But, it only motivated me to keep pressing forward.  It also motivated me to reach out and seek others that I can encourage and uplift who are in my same shoes.  By me giving, I will be able to receive the gifts that God has placed before me.  I have connected with the right people who not only care about their writing, but are willing to help.  It is very important to surround yourself with like-minded people.

Do I have any regrets?

The only regret I have is not pursuing  my goals a lot earlier.  If you have a gift, use it before you lose it.  It took me a while to find my writing voice.  I knew what I wanted to write about and who I wanted to reach out to, it’s just putting those thoughts from pen to paper or from fingers to computer.

Live your life the way God intended you to.  When my mind is in a fog, I refer to Proverbs, 3:5-6 and Psalm 23.

Happy New Year Everyone!

This concludes Mimi Jenkins’ Moment of Truth.

stay-focused-and-enjoy-life

Image by DailyPositiveQuotes.com

3 Responses to “Are You Focused”


  1. I think we all have that same regret, “I should’ve done this sooner.” However, moving forward from age 5– when is the learning curve over? We have to live to the exact point where this becomes a relevant thought. Some people never have that thought or intestinal fortitude to move forward and create their Dreamlife. You’re way ahead of all those people. 🙂


    • Over time, I have always wanted to do something that I love (writing), but was afraid to take the chance or what other’s may have to say about the situation. One day, it dawned on me that I can’t be all things to all people. I have to be me – who God created me to be. I no longer wanted to put my gifts on hold. Yeah, the economy is tough, but I am still holding on to a part-time job. It’s not easy, but I will never know unless I try and stay focused by keeping my eye on the prize.

      Thanks for your comment.
      ~NEJ~

  2. supriya Says:

    If you have a gift, use it before you lose it…100% true
    But i don’t believe in regretting its all a part of growing up and be what we intended to be. But, yes we keep asking our self where we are & where we want to go .
    Inspiring post 🙂


Leave a Reply

