Don’t Just Settle

December 15, 2012

Settling is something you do when all options have been exhausted.  But, should you settle on marriage just because your biological clock is ticking and you don’t want to be alone?  Are you settling because all of your friends have settled?

Let me tell you a little secret: no one truly knows what goes on behind closed doors.  You see those happy couples at the restaurant, shopping mall, or sporting activities and think they have it all together.  Do they really?  Is their life really peachy king? I would watch how happy couples seem to be on television and I would say to my husband, “Husband, why can’t we be like that?”  His answer, “That’s on television.”

Am I settling for less?  Are you settling for less?  Ladies, when your man hits you and then tells you he’s sorry repeatedly; are you settling?  Gentlemen, when your woman talks down to you and never has anything nice to say; are you settling?

When you are at work and feel as though you are not making a difference; are you settling?

My problem is, I have a difficult time knowing what it is I truly want out of life sometimes and I often settle for less because it’s all I know.  I do know that I love to write and encourage others, but sometimes get discouraged because I am not famous or have any fancy degrees.  You see, we tend to settle for less all the time because we are stuck in a box.  You have to get outside the box, take a deep breath, and take risks.

My first novel titled:  I Am My Mother’s Daughter was a huge risk for me because I know I am a first time Author and I knew going into it that I would have to do a whole lot of marketing to get the word out.  Is it working for me?  The answer to that question is; I will never know if I don’t at least keep at it.  I have some good people on my side to help me along the way.  There have been a lot of times when I wanted to throw in the towel and pull my e-book off the shelf, but if I did that, I would be settling for less.  You have to work hard to achieve your goals; not only that, winners never quit.  I have to admit, it is real tough.  Tougher than I thought.

If there is something you want to do with your life, go for it.  Know your strengths and your weaknesses by trying different ways of accomplishing your goals.  But, most importantly, don’t settle for less.  As far as I can tell, the majority of successes came into play from many failed attempts.

How can you know if you are settling:

1.  You are not happy.

2.  You once had goals and dreams, but where put on hold for one reason or another.

Listen to your heart, it never lies.

This concludes Mimi Jenkins’ Moment of Truth

do-what-makes-you-oh-so-happy

 

 

One Response to “Don’t Just Settle”

  1. supriya Says:

    Thank a lot for one more time ………its 100 % true no one in this world come and give us what we dream in a decorated plate we have to go for it and in that its not matter how much i get but who i become in the process.
    Sometime what you love is the only thing you have


Leave a Reply

