Truth Be Told – I Too Was Bullied

October 21, 2012

Somehow, I am still stuck on this overall bullying thing….I can’t get it out of my head.  I have much concern and love for the young generation of all ages.  It doesn’t matter if your are in elementary school or college; the point it, you are our future.  

First of all when I was in middle school, I was picked on a lot partly because I lived in a house without running water and my mom shopped at yard sales for my clothes.  Now, not just any yard sale I mind you, she chose the ones that were outside of the neighborhood because she didn’t want kids at my school recognizing their clothes on me…well, I must be honest, kids can be cruel to one another. 

The bullying never stopped.  I always got singled out and picked on in just about every grade.  Why?  I don’t know.  I was always a praying child, (never bothered anyone) stayed to myself, and tried so hard not to let the pushing, shoving, and name calling get the best of me.  It was hard, but I managed to escape unscathed and all.  I would get a sickening feeling in my stomach every time I went to school.  I would cry myself to sleep at night.  

What did I do to deserve such cruelty?  Nothing at all…I guess I was pick-able (if that’s a word).None the less, I kept my head up high and constantly talked to GOD while making my way through the not-so-nice girls gathered in the hallway calling me names as I walked to my classes.  Oh, I got called names like, poor, white girl, and so on and so forth.  Why did they call me white girl you ask when I am clearly a woman of color?  Sadly to say, my friends said that was how I acted and talked so…they didn’t want me hanging around because I wasn’t one of them.

 If I felt deep down that I shouldn’t do something, I would not do it; even if it meant I had lose all my friends (so-called-friends) in the process.  No one; I tell you… no one could pressure me to do that which was wrong. Oh yeah, I also got called the name “Miss Goody Too Shoes” because I refused to skip school and smoke pot.  I’m sorry what??? My mom would have whipped me until the sun went down.

It hurt like hell, but I kept moving on and accepted who I was as a child of GOD’s.  I starting hanging around folk that accepted how I talked, walked, and acted.  You see, my mom reared me to respect, love,  and accept who I was…course wavy hair, plump limps with a mahogany skin tone.

Young folks, we can’t change who we are and not everyone will like you no matter what skin color or complexion you are.  You didn’t do anything to deserve what you are going through.  Pray about it and hold your head up high.   

Are you going through this?  Talk to me….We are all different, but in a good way…accept who you are and keep on moving.

This Conclude Mimi Jenkins’ Moment of Truth.

Image

Leave a Reply

